Lucinda Munro Cook
2 min readApr 20, 2023

--

No, I Don’t Want Equality In Your System, I Want OUR System!

Photo by Ny Menghor on Unsplash

“I do think that women could make politics irrelevant

By as a kind of spontaneous cooperative action

The like of which we have never seen

Which is so far from people’s ideas of state structure

And vital social structure that seems to them like total anarchy

And what it really is is very subtle forms of interrelation

Which do not follow a sort of hierarchical pattern which is

Fundamentally patriarchal

The opposite of patriarchy is not matriarchy but fraternity

And I think it’s women who are going to have to

Break this spiral of power

And find the trick of cooperation.” Germaine Greer

Speaking on Sinead O’Connor’s album, Universal Mother

As a child, as most likely every child does, I condemned war. My reasoning then, as now, was a simple equation. Stop making war, feed the starving, save the world. How can we consider ourselves civilized if we make war? The adults told me I was too young to understand. This kind of patronizing attitude is still going on, and it is no mistake that patronizing has the same root as patriarchy. Women can’t understand, oh no? People seem to forget that…

--

--